Scratch another one off my racing “Bucket List”

As hard as it is to believe, I have never attended the NHRA U.S. Nationals in Indianapolis.  That changes this weekend.

Amazingly, I worked in Indianapolis from 1984 until late 1987 for WIBC Radio and never made it to the event.

I worked just an hour south of Indianapolis for many years in Columbus and never made it to the event.

Then again, I grew up 15 miles from Madison, Indiana and never made the Unlimited Hydroplane races there.

Covering the U.S. Nationals this weekend allows me to put another check mark next to racing events I’d like to attend before I turn into worm food.

I’ve been lucky enough to scratch off the Indianapolis 500, the Daytona 500, the Brickyard 400 and the Rolex 24.

I still have on the list the 24 Hours of LeMans, Monaco F-1 and the 12 Hours of Sebring.

Not sure I’ll make those three before I’m looking at the underside of my grass but I’m not giving up hope!

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS

Leave a Reply

